Home > May 2010 > You Picked A Fine Time To Leave Me Loose Wheel

You Picked A Fine Time To Leave Me Loose Wheel

No, I am not encouraging a certain race announcer to imitate Kenny Rogers. Tom McLaughlin suggested playing the association game with songs instead of rock bands.  The rock band post got a good response, and maybe this will too. And I am feeling a little lazy today, so how about these rock and race connections?

-The Rolling Stones ‘Start Me Up’ before every sprint car race? Or maybe ‘Pushin’ Too Hard’ by the Seeds would be better.

The Beatles ‘Don’t Bother Me’ was what Denny Hamlin might have said to Kyle Busch as Busch tried to pass him in the Sprint All-Star race last Saturday in Charlotte. The Beatles ‘Tell Me Why’ is what Busch was expecting from Hamlin after their incident led to Busch smacking the wall and departing from the race. Because you are a ‘Nowhere Man’ was Hamlin’s retort.

‘Long and Winding Road’-what Matt and I take to get to Eagle Raceway.

The Beach Boys ‘I Get Around’-Superfan Ed Reichert aka Cheesehead, from Wisconsin.

The Beatles ‘Good Day Sunshine’-what promoters want after a day of ‘Rain.’

Taxman-the Nebraska Department of Revenue’s highly valued employee, superfan Tony Anville, the Auburn auditor.

Martha Reeves ‘Nowhere to Run’-Midwest drivers who don’t want to travel to Florida, Arizona, or Texas in the winter.

The Beatles ‘Baby You’re A Rich Man’-NASCAR great Jeff Gordon.

‘Fixing a Hole’ from the Beatles Sgt. Pepper album-what too many dirt tracks need to do midway through a program.

‘Helter Skelter’-the start of the Indianapolis 500.

‘I Am the Walrus’-definitely not the former race forum trailblazer of truth known as Bruton.

‘I’ll Be Back’-what I am thinking every time I say I am never returning to a certain track.  ‘I Should Have Known Better’-what I am thinking after I return to the track I said I would never visit again.

‘Come Together’-what seems to happen frequently with a group of cars in a B-mod feature.

‘Get Off My Cloud’-late model driver Scott Bloomquist

‘No Reply’-what a famous NASCAR Sprint Cup driver once gave to a ‘Little Child’ from Nebraska who wanted his autograph.

‘Mother’s Little Helper’-not wanting to touch off an internet firestorm, I think I’ll pass on this, though TMC and Humpy know what I am thinking.

‘Drive My Car’-something Matt asks me to do ONLY when it is 3:00 a.m. coming back from a race, or when it is pouring down rain coming back from a race, or both.

‘Strange Days’-the IMCA Supernationals at Boone.

‘Shut Down’-something that all back gate only promoters eventually have to do.

‘Magical Mystery Tour’-Ivan Tracy’s travels from January through March each year.

‘With A Little Help From My Friends’-how I got Prilosec OTC sponsorship for my blog.

‘Bad Boy’-Randy Palmer.  Of course ‘Mean Mr. Mustard or ‘Wild Thing’ also can be used to describe this Lincoln super fan.  I was going to add ‘Fool On A Hill,’ but I figured Eagle Pit Shack Guy would use that one.

‘Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band’-the select group of fans who still go to the weekly show at a certain Nebraska race track.

‘Paperback Writer’-what I could claim to be if Craig Kelley would quit telling me “next year’ every time I bring up doing a book on Sunset Speedway.

Even though I needed ‘Help’ from Wikipedia to come up with a many of these tunes, I still got a great deal of ‘Satisfaction’ doing this blog. However, ‘It Won’t Be Long’ before you ‘Ask Me Why,’ and ‘I Don’t Want To Spoil The Party’ so I’ll go. 

Thanks for stopping by, and remember I’m always ‘Happy Just To Dance With You.’

  1. Ivan
    May 26, 2010 at 11:42 pm | #1

    My “tour” starts after Knoxville in August with the Northwest swing of the Outlaws and with a few others thrown in! Sometime 2 a day like Victorville then to Tulare.

  2. May 27, 2010 at 12:34 am | #2

    Ivan-I am still riding that fine line between envy and jealousy with you.

  3. epsg
    May 27, 2010 at 1:26 am | #3

    I used my rstar reference previously when I mentioned “Ballad of the Green (Grey) Berets”, so I’ll have to figure up another one.

    I’m a “horn rock” afficionado, always have been so maybe I should go with some of those.

    I would say Ivan Tracy would be “Spinning Wheel” by Blood Sweat and Tears for all of the travelling he does annually.

    Keeping with the B S & T theme, let’s propose “You’ve made me so very happy” to Roger & Michelle Hadan for preserving Eagle Raceway.

    “Beginnings” by Chicago would be appropos for Midwest Speedway as that is where the 360 sprint car rules first originated.

    Chicago’s “Hard habit to break” would be the dirt track fever that so many of us suffer from.

    Getting off of “horn rock” and on to “swamp rock” (another of my favorite groups is Creedence Clearwater Revival.

    “Who’ll stop the rain” is the anthem of too many track promoters in April and May.

    I suppose rstar could be their mini-hit “It came out of the sky”. :P

    “Commotion” very well describes the 1st lap of last weeks sprint feature at Eagle where Mike Boston ended up going over and also taking out his sons sprinter.

    Lastly I would propose that “I heard it through the grapevine” be declared the theme song for all keyboard commando, message board denizens everywhere.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33,382 other followers

