Home > April 2015 > Top 25, Plus I Am Having A Glass Of Whine Before Noon

Top 25, Plus I Am Having A Glass Of Whine Before Noon

Listed below is my Top 25 www.DirtonDirt.com ballot for this week. I seem to be disagreeing with the other 24 voters more than ever as only 19 on my ballot appear on the site’s Top 25.  I will admit to a personal bias against two of the drivers that do appear, an indifference toward several that show up, and a feeling that my picks deserved to be in the Top 25 more than the other two who did make it.

DirtonDirt.com Top 25 Voting Ballot
Name: Ron Meyer
Date: 4/13/2015
 
Position
1 Shane Clanton
2 Randy Weaver
3 Jimmy Owens
4 Jonathan Davenport
5 Scott Bloomquist
6 Josh Richards
7 Darrell Lanigan
8 Billy Moyer
9 Earl Pearson Jr.
10 Bobby Pierce
11 Don O’Neal
12 Eddie Carrier Jr.
13 Steve Francis
14 Brandon Sheppard
15 Tim McCreadie
16 Devin Moran
17 Casey Roberts
18 Steve Casebolt
19 Dale McDowell
20 Billy Ogle Jr.
21 Dennis Erb Jr.
22 Chris Madden
23 Brandon Overton
24 Mike Marlar
25 Mason Zeigler

 

The other six on my ballot are scattered between 26th and 32nd so I am not too far off though.  I did consider Ryan Gustin as a possibility this time, but kept Marlar and Zeigler ahead of him.

There are lots of big events this weekend.  The Lucas Oil series is in Batesville, Arkansas for a $20,000 to win show.  WoO late models are in Farmer City, Illinois for a $6,000 to win Friday night show and will stay at Farmer City for a Saturday night race paying $15,0000 to the winner.

MARS/CBC/ALMS are sanctioning three separate races this weekend-a $4,000 to win Friday night event at Davenport, Iowa with a $10,555 to win Saturday race at Burlington, Iowa and a Sunday weekend finish at Quad City, Illinois paying $3,000 to the winner.

Hopefully Mother Nature will co-operate because five of those races are in the same general area.  Eastern Iowa race fans can also head to Farley on Friday for a Deery Brothers race, and that IMCA series heads to Webster City, Iowa on Saturday.  So, why is all the good racing 200-400 miles away?

The USMTS will be in Oklahoma on Friday and Saturday, so I repeat my wonderment of good racing being 200-400 miles away.  For those of you who might want to suggest something closer, sorry, back gate classics with 5-6 divisions and a gazillion cars don’t make it on my list of good races.

Actually I emailed Matt and another fellow earlier today about why promoters in this area seem to get it right about two nights a year, the Friday and Saturday of the Silver Dollar Nationals.  Other specials seem to have to have B-Mods, 305 Sprints, Mod-Lites aka mini B-Mods, or Hornets. Maybe front gates aren’t so good because fans don’t want to see all those classes I just mentioned pull in the back gate.

Yeah, why bitch, nothing is going to change. Thanks for stopping by.

 

 

 

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment