Home > May 2010 > Tear Down Every Cookie Cutter Track

Tear Down Every Cookie Cutter Track

I felt so bad when I learned that Randy Palmer had no “hero” cards and would not be signing autographs at Eagle Raceway on Saturday that I decided to stay home.  Well, not exactly so. Matt and I talked about going to Eagle after the UNL baseball game on Saturday, but decided to wait until next week to let the track work out first week problems with running five classes. Since I saw no complaints on dirtdrivers.com and heard the races got over about 11:00 p.m., everything must have worked pretty well.  Here’s to it being safe and efficient every week.

Years ago I read a Sports Illustrated article that said Memorial Stadium was the worst place to watch great college football.  I am ready to say that Haymarket Park is the best place to watch mediocre baseball.  It is sad to see how far the Nebraska baseball team has fallen since 2005 and its last visit to the College World Series.  The most interesting thing to watch several innings was the Burlington Northern coal trains rolling by, every car load adding to Berkshire Hathaway’s billions in profit.  Unfortunately I do not own any of the stock, not even the B shares.  I hear Tony Anville may own shares of the A stock though.

I did watch part of the Richmond Sprint Cup race last night.  Surprisingly, what I did watch was pretty good.  I have said it before, but tear down all the 1 ½ mile pieces of !@!#$ tracks, and rebuild them as 3.4 mile tri-ovals like Richmond.  That would be my answer to both attendance and TV ratings problems-well, the TV ratings won’t ever increase with the current Fox sports crew, but that is another story.

The late caution cost Jeff Gordon a win, but for everyone calling him over the hill I Say look at his finishes other than Talladega where Jimmie Johnson cost him another good finish.  Speaking of Johnson, I hate it that even on an off night he still manages a top ten finish.  It was nice to see Kevin Harvick retake the lead from Johnson though. 

Tony Anville roared with delight when an incident between Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Paul Menard send Eanrhardt Jr. to the pits with a flat tire.  Later he just roared when NASCAR black flagged him for not getting all the lug nuts in place after a tire change.  Actually, I think it is Menard fans that have a problem with missing lug nuts.

The Sprint Cup series goes to Darlington next week.  Dare we hope for a third good race in a row?  And no, I do not like NASCAR running Sprint Cup races on Saturday night. 

More ultimate dirt track comments tomorrow.  Thanks for stopping by.

  1. rstar
    May 4, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Since I’m not greek, it’s highly unlikely I will ever have gyro cards. You and Boy Wonder missed a good night of racing at Eagle saturday night. They had an average crowd which to me appeared to be late arriving due to the earlier start times.

  2. SC
    May 4, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Ya missed a good one at “America’s Home track on S-S-S-Saturday Nite. (although the Sprint “A” had MANY spinouts and caution flags, and you and your partner “Hump-Daddio” would’ve probably left early and MISSED one of the “epic” Boston/Dover battles I mentioned earlier.) Times that 2 car war by 10 and that should be a good indication of what the fans will see when the ASCS Lucaa Oil National tour is in the house for the Eagle Nationals in June. 155 cars in the pits (including Noteboom, Coffee, and Abelson, the Soiuxland Invaders) We started ON TIME at 6:30 and was enroute to a well under 4 hour show with 16 heat races, 4 “B”‘s, and 5 “A”‘s, until a major accident after a restart during the Mod “A” that took a while to clean up, and the 49 minute 25 lap Sprint main in which Boston beat Dover by .61 seconds. The final checekerd flag flew at approx. 10:45. Although he may not’ve signsd any autographs, I did spy a “Jaunty Beret” sauntering through the crowd before racetime. Sign-in did have some glitches and we were without Feature line-ups due to a substitue employees unwilliness to use the computer and did them all manually, but forgot about copying them to us. we just called them as they came out of staging, except for the sprint “A” which didn’t come out in order….props go out to Jim Hitz’s son who got us a copy before the “tunnel walk” theme was over….. all in all a great opening weekly show. Hey….Free flowers to the first 500 mothers through the gate next weekend. Since I’ve heard RSTAR describe you as a mother on occasion, maybe you could qualify. LOL……………see’ya, SC

  3. May 4, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Ya, rstar uses a lot of different colorful phrases to describe me. And yet I am always kind to him.

  4. May 4, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Randy-Boy Wonder and I went to the UNL baseball game Saturday afternoon. Could tell that we needed some sunscreen. Matt goes back to his car and puts on sunscreen, but doesn’t bring it back for me. I got burned but good. Since you call him a genius I assume he did this on purpose.

  1. July 7, 2010 at 8:25 am

Leave a comment