Home > April 2011 > Whether Tis Nobler In The Mind To Suffer—Promoters

Whether Tis Nobler In The Mind To Suffer—Promoters

In the latest Hawkeye Racing News, Editor Jim Morrison was talking about promoter’s interpretations of when a race program is complete and not subject to refunds or rain checks.  He stated “the worst deal is when you leave a race track feeling that not everything was done that could have been to get the races completed.” He added “no one can make a decision that repeatedly sends people home unhappy and expect them to return-especially race fans because there are just too many options available.”

I have been preaching that message for years, though not about one specific issue.  There is a thread on dirtdrivers.com complaining about issues at a Midwest track.  Many people have expressed concerns on the thread, while several have defended the track.  One defender stated:  “nor will I whine because Roger Hadan, Dave Cook, Ed Kosiski or Delmar Friesen or somebody else didn’t do what I wanted them to do. Grow UP!”

That is a noble statement indeed.  Although I haven’t posted anything on the thread and won’t, as one of questionable maturity, I wonder whether ‘tis nobler, ah heck, Shakespeare wondered  it too:

“Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer

The slings and arrows of outrageous promoters,

Or to take arms against a sea of troubles,

And by opposing end them?”

I am one who believes in opposing wrongs, not sticking my head in the sand and ignoring them. If fans choose to ignore what is wrong at a race track, the wrongs will never be righted. I don’t get a free pass on my day job.  I am held to high expectations, and if I fail to perform as I should, I hear about it. Why should promoters be held to a lesser standard than you or I are on our jobs? 

The days of thinking the internet is evil, or a best a necessary evil are long past.  People want information.  They demand information.  Track websites have to do a better job in providing timely information and need to become much more user friendly.

Open a newspaper and check the movie schedule and you know when the curtain is going to rise at the local theater.  If a schedule says a baseball game is going to start at 7:00 p.m., it does. Check the sports section and see a race track ad, and in too many cases the start time shown in the ad is space filler.  Races may start 30 minutes or more after the announced start time. Race fans don’t get plush seats or cup holders like at theaters or ball parks, so shouldn’t they at least be able to expect the area they pay to sit in is going to be clean? Very seldom does someone get up in the middle of a movie or concert to leave.  Far too often people do get up to leave before a race program is completed. 

Why I speak out and will continue to speak out is that correcting the above would not take huge cash outlays by the track.  Other than cleaning up the place, none of the problems would cost a penny to fix.  But tracks continue to ignore these types of problems and irritate their consumer.  I do not get it. It takes a little organization is all.

Yes, I did change one word in the Shakespeare quote.  I am sure Will would agree with the change.  After all he also wrote “something is wrong in the state of Nebraska.”

Thanks for stopping by.

  1. sp12
    April 25, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Ron, Why is it that when you do bring something up to a promoter, the answer is “you want to buy the damn place?”

  2. April 25, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    I don’t think it is every promoter that says that Ivan, but a lot of them in the Midwest sure do. My reply would be” which is a bigger problem for you-people like me who complain, or people who don’t complain but no longer show up? I keep thinking “common sense will tell you,” but maybe that sense isn’t so common. If I was doing things that hurt my bottom line I would want to know, AND I would do everything in my power to eliminate that problem.

  3. Matt
    April 26, 2011 at 1:40 am

    Great comment and question sp12!

    Further, most, if not all track promoters, have the attitude that if you don’t own a track or promote races, you don’t have the business acumen to pass judgement.

    Here is one specific issue in short track racing – back gate promoting. I believe that back gate promoting is a band-aid fix that may (??) yield short term profits but loses long term front gate revenue, thus moving the sport closer and closer to a participatory or club sport opposed to a spectator sport.

    Working on ticket sales and sponsorship will provide far more stability to promoters than back gating.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment