Home > November 2016 > All’s Well That Ends Well

All’s Well That Ends Well

If too much medical information offends you, skip the next five paragraphs.

I had a script written in my mind how my cancer surgery and recovery was going to play out. I wrote it long before the surgery and went over it so many times I had it memorized. October 25th would see me in the operating room for 45 minutes, I would spend a few hours in recovery, and then I would go home to the comfort of my own bed. I was wrong from the very beginning.

Instead of 45 minutes in the operating room I spent 3 ½ hours. Instead of going home I went from the recovery room to a 4th floor room to spend the night at the Fremont Medical Center. I had the evil catheter coming out on Friday October 28th, and I was a little ahead of schedule on that one-well, sort of.  The catheter was blocked by a blood clot and so it did come out, but another replaced it.

That catheter had to be designed by an auditor because it was more than a little painful to deal with. Last weekend was miserable. Even pain pills could not get rid of the pain. I thought I was going out of my mind. The catheter finally came out on Monday-incredible relief, but not until later did I find out it probably should have just been replaced.

My script had me returning to work full-time on Tuesday, November 1st. I did return to work, but worked only 4 hours. I worked 5 hours on Wednesday, none on Thursday, and just 2 hours on Friday. Thank goodness I work for an outstanding employer and with some incredible co-workers. Wednesday night things that were supposed to be working better, stopped working at all. I spent an awful 15 hours before getting in to the urologist-where once again, I met an old friend, the catheter.

Plus, all this time I seemed to want to really do only one thing-sleep. I have been in bed so much that I am getting dizzy lying down or getting up. Crazy. How long will it be before I see things in my life as close to normal?  On Friday, the 4th time I saw the urologist last week, he said it would be 2-3 weeks. I am hoping for a nice Thanksgiving. Praying for a nice Thanksgiving. As Shakespeare wrote “All’s Well That Ends Well.” And no, I have never read that play.

END OF MEDICAL, ON TO RACING

I had a plan to watch plenty of racing this weekend, with the National 100 from Alabama and the Western World from Arizona streaming on my computer. I watched some of each, just not as much as I had planned-remember I had a lot of sleeping to do.

Anyway, I remember now why they call it the National 100. The 100 isn’t just for the number of laps in the late model feature, it is for the number of support classes racing. At least it seemed that way. On Friday, I watched hot laps, ate supper, and slept for about three hours. I decided to check out the race anyway, and found my timing was perfect. They were just getting ready to start the late model preliminary A feature. That is pretty much all I was interested in and so I watched Tim McCreadie have an easy time winning his first feature of the year and collecting $5,000.

Saturday was déjà vu all over again. Eat, sleep, log on to www.DirtonDirt.CALM. Hey, that is how the Alabama announcer said it. I watched a Cruiser feature that was really decent. In this case Cruiser did not mean two-man junk cars, but more like Pro-Am or IMCA Stock Cars. Plenty of side by side racing, and that is what I like.

The late model results were déjà vu as well, with McCreadie collecting another win and $5,000 more. He had to work hard for the win though as Don O’Neal was with him for much of the last half of the race. It was a fun race to watch.

Per the East Alabama Speedway website, late model B Mains will start at 6:00 p.m. tonight, and will be followed by the 100 lap A feature. I will be there-well, in front of my computer screen at least.

I watched a little of the Western World races-less than I thought I would, and hope I can find them on the replay board at www.SpeedShiftTV.com. I really enjoy the wingless sprint cars. Bouncing through the turns, or accelerating on the straightaway, it seems like all 4 wheels are never on the ground with these cars. While the National 100 is not on my bucket list, Western World is.

And of course I will be watching The Chase, NASCAR’s Sprint Cup race from Texas today. I would prefer that Joey Logano and Denny Hamlin do bad. I am indifferent about Carl Edwards and Kurt Busch, and Jimmie Johnson has already won a race and will run for the championship at Homestead, Florida. So if Kevin Harvick, Matt Kenseth, or Kyle Busch win, that would be OK.

No, I am not going back to bed. I am trying to stay up today. I guess I can read about the second worst loss ever by an NU football team. Or read my book on Depression Era baseball. Or play games on the computer. Just no sleeping today.

Thanks for stopping by.

 

  1. Grandstand Know-it-All
    November 7, 2016 at 7:29 am

    Sorry to hear about all of your medical woes but just remember that is why they call it practicing medicine, they never get very good at it. They should torture prisoners with 5 hours of Kyle Petty babbling. Then to make matters worse NASCAR calls a ‘playoff’ race that is not finished for rain. Is there any wonder why the thing there is the most of at a race is empty seats? But never fear we are only one race away from the exciting rock-paper-scissors final race of the season.

  2. Daniel Schmidt
    November 10, 2016 at 12:51 pm

    Get to feeling better, 17′ race season is right around the corner, even though the current season hasn’t ended yet. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment